No Forfeiting in DoW

What’s the reasoning behind not having forfeiting in the Duel of Wits? Range and Cover has its “A player may drop his third volley maneuver to change his second volley” bit (and of course, Fight as well). That doesn’t fly in DoW? How come?

DoW is the simplest of the three conflict systems, and thus it is also the fastest in execution. So, on that criteria we never felt a need for it.
But the speed and simplicity also make for a tightly balanced ruleset. It’s too easy to mess with the system if you can forfeit.

True that. Figured it was something along those lines.