So I’m putting together a Procedural Guide for Treatment and Recovery and I’ve got a question about the following hypothetical sequence of events:
You take a Midi wound. That wound bleeds long enough for it to become a Severe wound. As per the Bleeding rules, it stops bleeding at this point. Someone makes a Treatment test for this Severe wound and fails the test.
What is the consequence of this failed test?
Normally the consequence would mean that the wound keeps bleeding and eventually becomes Traumatic. In this scenario, however, the wound is no longer bleeding. If the wound had been treated while it was a Midi wound, the consequence would have been a permanent -1D loss followed by the recovery roll. As far as I can tell, there’s nothing in the rules about this non-bleeding Severe wound.
Some relevant passages from the book:
From the Bleeding rules on pg 490:
Midi—A midi wound must be treated before the conclusion of the session or else the wound becomes a severe wound. The wound ceases to bleed at severe.
Severe—A severe wound must be tended to before the conclusion of the second scene after its issue or else the wound progresses to traumatic.
From the Failed Treatment or Recovery rules on pg 495:
Failed Treatment for Midi through Traumatic
This is really bad. These tests require treatment in order for the recovery process to begin. Essentially, what’s happened is either the doctor has thrown up his hands and said, “There’s nothing I can do!" or fumbled around and made matters worse.
For midi wounds, one die is permanently subtracted from an appropriate stat, but the character can recover the other one. For severe and traumatic wounds, the injured character is bleeding to death and better get real help quickly or he’ll die!
Failed Recovery for Midi, Severe, and Traumatic Wounds
At least the bleeding is stopped. The character heals in the full length of time required, but only recovers half of the dice lost. The remaining dice are permanently subtracted from an appropriate stat. If that stat happens to be reduced to zero, the character is permanently comatose. Better save artha for your Health tests! Also, reduce the cap of the depleted stat by one. Thus, if you fail to recover from a midi wound to the arm you lose one die from—say—Power and your Power cap is reduced from 8 to 7. Take a die trait to represent this.
I also have this paragraph from Luke himself from this thread which somewhat clarifies these rules but still does not answer my question:
As per page 495: You can’t bleed to death from a Midi. You lose -1D from a failed treatment test.
If treatment fails for a Severe or Traumatic wound, you suffer a mortal wound after the appropriate bleeding times.
If you fail your Recovery test for a Midi wound, you also lose -1D permanently.
If you fail your Recovery test for a Severe or Traumatic wound, you lose -2D permanently.
Your stat cap is also reduced by one.
Let It Ride (page 32) applies to these tests as it does to every roll outside of Range and Cover, Fight and Duel of Wits.
If I had to guess, I’d say that the character permanently loses -1D or -2D from a relevant stat and then moves on to the Recovery roll.