Question about improving Wises

If a player makes a test using a skill, and brings a wise in to play, does the wise also get marked with a Pass or Fail toward advancement?

Otherwise, are Wises generally advanced in the same way that skills are - by having Tests use them? (“Lets see if you can figure out where the squirrel’s den is - who’s got Squirrel Wise? Roll it!”)

It seems that there’s mention of adding a new Wise at rank 2 during Winter Session, but I don’t see any other mention of Wise improvement.

Thanks!

You have to roll it on its own to improve it.

Matt

Hello. I am new to MG, but I have run 3 sessions with my family so far and everyone is very excited about it.

My question is, can a few of you offer up some examples of OB1 or OB2 wise tests?

I know the grading system on p 255, but was wondering how players phrase these types of questions. Do you have an interesting example from your game?

Thanks.

I use this table for my Wises Obs

really interesting and likely Ob1
likely or interesting Ob2
completly unlikely Ob 3

something like that. I am more inclined to give them lower Wises Obs since Mouse Guard encourages you to have more low level wises.

Hi there.

Lockhaven-wise:
Ob 1: Who rules Lockhaven? (Gwendolyn, matriarch of the Guard); what kind of people live there (the Mouse Guard and skilled and trustworthy mice invited by the Guard)
Ob 2: What are Lockhaven’s major trades? (textiles, weapons and armor, prepared foods, honey and wax)

Weasel-wise:
Ob 1: Are weasels intelligent? (yes, they have language, culture and technology)
Ob 2: Where do weasels live? (the Darkheather, along the Southwest border of the territories)

This is a bit outside of the question, but could be good to think about.

If your group runs into Wise tests often on its own (maybe you spend a lot of time in Lockhaven, or near the scent border, or dealing with weasels) then the Wises will tend to level up organically.