Questions about beliefs

I’m hoping experienced folks would be willing to educate me around beliefs. I’m the GM in a soon to start campaign, with three players. We’re all pretty new to BW, either complete novices, or having played a few sessions a couple years ago. I’ve read and listened to lots of discussion on beliefs and I think I have a good handle on them, but I’m always interested in hearing other peoples suggestions.

One area I’m confused about is the relationship of Persona and Fate to beliefs, and the frequency of awarding said Artha. The BWG book suggests awarding a Persona each session, yet if it’s for the resolution of personal goals, perhaps we are writing beliefs incorrectly, or perhaps I’m not envisioning how to GM correctly so that beliefs are resolved so frequently. As such I’d like to throw up the characters beliefs, as they stand so far, and see what advice you might give, either on improving beliefs, or on how to poke them.

Background context: The game is set on the edge of an expanding empire, the expansion is being pushed by a ‘One God’ that has outlawed all magic and all other gods. The game setting is a free city that is just being prodded by the empire in preparation for the next stage of conquest. The location is far more mountainous than the Empire’s native grasslands, and so the Empire is approaching cautiously, though the Divine Mountain of a major opposing pantheon is deep in the mountains, so the Empire is determined to push on and building a road for access through the mountains. The PCs are a Spirit Binder, an Enchanter and a Priest of a outlaw church, hence all targets of the Imperial Church. They are all wishing to resist the Imperial expansion.

The first 2 sets of beliefs are, I think, not action oriented enough. And they only have 2 each, so far…

Muata (Spirit Binder), who’s twin sister was taken by slavers:

1. I believe to find my kidnapped twin I must learn as much as I can about slavers (and the Holmekk Slaving Clan).