Questions about sentient animals

Hello! I was out with a bunch of geek friends last weekend, and picked up the Mouse Guard book as an early bday gift for myself. We started playing the next day, and although there were some confusing points (I’ve been gaming for a few years now, but a new system is always slippery), I really only have one question that comes to mind -

Are mice and weasels the only sentient animals?
I know there are other animals, and I’ve looked up some pictures from the comics - while one person in the group swears up and down he’s seen a talking rabbit (and an owl) in the comics, I can’t seem to find anything to support this.

I suppose this raises a few lesser questions, as well - if they are able to speak, can mice understand them, or are there separate languages amongst the animals?

Our GM has poured over the book and claims to have found nothing, but I haven’t read the denizens section completely since I’m not GMing for awhile yet (it’ll be for a different group).

The game is very fun otherwise, and I’d like to thank anyone who answers in advance! :smiley:

There is a talking rabbit in Winter 1152, Chapter 6, around page 6.

From what I could tell, Mice and Weasels are the only civilized species (Towns, weapons, and other such stuff). However some other animals seem to be able to talk, even though sometimes mice don’t normally understand them (The farther from being like a mouse the more different the language). Black Axe talks with the Owl in Winter 1152 and the Bats talk at one point too.(Chapter 4, page 5 and Chapter 3, page 14 respectively)

For the Mouse Guard rules about talking with animals see page 222 in the Mouse Guard Roleplaying Game.

Thank you! I haven’t managed to get hold of the comics (the local store only has a couple issues of Winter), so this info is much appreciated. I also see the small section on communication you mentioned, and it’s very helpful as well.