Raksha Tainted Revolutionary

Hey Everyone!

This is my first time burning a character, and I was looking for some feedback/advice.

The game setting is going to be a major city in a world like China Mieville’s Bas-Lag. It will be full of weird magic, unfamiliar races, the politics of industrialization, and opportunity for adventure. We’re still negotiating what “The Situation” will be, so we might twist beliefs around a little bit until we’re somewhat aligned on an agenda. I personally was pretty hooked by the Tainted Legacy trait, trying to portray a character who is ostracized for being different and who struggles with his own identity appeals to me. A lot of the traits looked too powerful or weird, but I thought the Dissent Parasite seemed like a neat way to give me and the character an interesting mechanic to reward making trouble for myself or others. Then I tried to think about how someone with human morality would reconcile with gaining power by causing conflict, and it became pretty clear to me the character should be some kind of political revolutionary. This dove-tailed very well with the City setting Student gaining the Rabble Rouser trait, and I was off to the races…

Mechanical details are below. A few questions:

1. When this character goes back to the Peasant setting (he started in it but left to be a Servant), does he need to spend another year to get leads to go back, or is this already covered?

2. Is it kosher to modify Ch traits a little? Like, in the book’s example character they turn “Extremely Respectful to My Betters” to “Extremely Respectful to My (Magical) Betters”. Is it okay to turn something like “Batshit” into “Batshit (Insane),” “Batshit (on Clothing)” or, as I have done, “Batshit (and Other Material Components)”. I thought it was in there as a nod to D&D’s old fireball component, and I wanted to roll with it.