Range&Cover + melee ambush

This is my first time GM-ing a BW campaign and thus my first engagement with the subsystems. We have a situation coming up the next session with the PCs being ambushed and I would like to know how the experts would set it all up.

Situation at the farm: the players (a soldier, two hunters and a trades man) are assumingly walking straight up to the fence surrounding the farm. Amongst the trees behind them are two Crossbow men (at optimal range) waiting to get a clear shot. Inside the barn are four thugs ready to rush out and finish them off the moment the first arrow flies.

In my head the crossbow men will rain arrows down on the PCs and after a few second the thugs are rushing their way forcing the party into melee. And if the thugs are taken out, the PC will turn their attention to the crossbow men.

My initial idea was to handle it all with a Bloddy Versus test, but I couldn’t figure out how to handle the crossbow men. Are they just an Advantage die/dice to add to the thugs? And what about the initial shots taken by the crossbow men? Is that maybe a separate versus test, before the melee starts? And what about PCs that are not doing the fighting against the thugs? Should I them break it down in different BVs?

My second idea was to start off by entering Range&Cover and having the thugs manuever their way to the PSs as they are trying to get out of the way of the arrows coming from behind. But what happens with the incoming fire when the thugs and the PCs are in melee? Bonus dice as I enter the said Bloddy Versus?

Regarding Beliefs: getting a hold of the crossbow men are in a way part of the Beliefs for the PCs. But the thugs are very much not. And I’m not confident with the complete Fight! rules just yet. Sure, we could crunch us thru them but that would take too much time, I think.

I want a rather quick resolution, but enough space for all PCs to feel they are playing their part in getting hold of the crossbow men.