Re: Scripting

(Crossposted to RPGnet)
I know that because Mouse Guard is a direct descendant of Burning Wheel, it uses the same basic scripting structure for combat. But having played the game a couple of times now, I was wondering if there would be anything lost by replacing “script three actions” with “script one action.” As far as I can tell, things would basically remain the same, but I’m not an expert and there may be something that I’m missing. Any thoughts?

I think that the designer and play community will, for the most part, think you are missing an important element if you eliminate scripted combat…It mainly has to do with the desire for a gritty, uncertain feeling that was hardwired into the system.

Ducks under a table, pops some popcorn and gets ready to watch the show

The answer is different for MG: it removes elements of teamwork and planning from the conflict system. If you do a search you may find some prior threads on this.

Teamwork in MG means everyone gets a turn and that everyone has to be a part of the plan for that exchange.

Removing the plan and hidden reveal turns the system into a simple I-GO-YOU-GO experience that you can get in any other game. Personally, I find I-GO-YOU-GO boring. Obviously, most people do not.

-L

With script 1:
you have less tension
you have more likelyhood of reading your opponent (MG:4 options instead of 64;BW: under a dozen instead of several hundred)
you may have a slightly slower pace of combat due to more time spent contemplating choices.

Everyone would still take a turn, teamwork rules would still be in effect, and it would still be important to discuss tactics a few moves in advance (although, now that I think about it, discussing those tactics in front of the GM might have him change tactics to match). I’m not sure why you wouldn’t still want to plan as a group what you will be doing in the next few actions, even without the enforced rules of planning 3 steps at a time.