Recharging Traits with Checks?

Mouse Guard 2nd Ed - Recharge a Trait on p260 says: If a level 1 or 3 trait has been used to help you this session, you may spend two or four checks, respectively, to reactivate it.

The character sheet implies that level 1 and 2 traits have charges but level 3 does not.

If a Trait at 3 is always on then why is it giving me the option to spend checks to recharge it? And how do I recharge a level 2 trait?

Is this a typo?

this is a text error in the rules and should instead refer to level 1 and level 2 traits.