Rewarding Players

I have GM’d 3 games so far, and I love this game. I am new to GM’ing and I am worried that I am not giving my players tangible rewards. The book only focus’d on Fate and Persona, so that is all I have given my players. Does anyone have some interesting suggestions for loot / things players would think of as loot?

Most of the rewards in Mouse Guard are intangible; it’s about how the characters change over time. That being said, there’s a place for helpful gear. (For examples, see Gear for Conflicts, starting on page 117.) Have the players been using their turn to craft items for their upcoming missions? Also, have you all had a winter session? Going through that together might give you a better feel for how to approach things in the future.

1. They all have crafted one weapon.
  2. no winter session yet

I worry that my group is going to want teh +2 sword of slashing or something. I was hoping to give them something cooler, along the lines of killing a weasel bandit and finding a sack of gold that increases everyones resoures by 3 successes. Things like that.

It’s interesting to me that they’ve each crafted a weapon–that’s something that has come up only rarely in my games. I’d keep this stuff in the hands of the players as much as possible. Try foreshadowing a mission where there’s a critical piece of gear (e.g. a boat or snowshoes) needed to approach the obstacle and see how they respond.

That being said, something like the Black Axe could be the heart of an entire campaign. It might not even be any better than a regular axe in a conflict, but it carries a lot of import. I wouldn’t introduce things like that carelessly.

I wouldn’t worry about it. Mouse Guard just isn’t about that kind of material reward.

I’m with Deliverator.