Running a Megadungeon

So, I was inspired about talk of the first edition of Dungeons & Dragons where you have one dungeon that is at least 6 floors, and thought Torchbearer would be a “fun” system to try and do it in.

Skimming through the rules, it seems the game is more geared towards doing multiple smaller dungeons rather than one big dungeon. Seeing as I’m new, I don’t want to hack the game too much, or really at all. Would it be possible to run a megadungeon without too much hacking?

I’m by no means an expert on this, but I would think your main issue would be with the Grind and conditions. Torchbearer forces an attention to food rations and water consumption that I’ve never really paid that much attention to running dungeons in other systems. So I would think the main thing would be either upping the resources that the players encounter during their exploration to replenish their supplies as they go, and/or possibly upping the number of turns for conditions to try and stretch what they have out a little longer.

I’ve been thinking about something similar – and my solution is to basically put a town inside the mega dungeon complex.

Alternate features – a spring with magic condition-clearing water, a mystical tree whose glowing fruit clears exhaustion, etc – might serve a similar purpose, but will probably have unforeseen side effects.

Dunno.

I think it’s possible but you do have to be aware that it’s challenge mode and probably not suited to new players. They’ll be under a lot more pressure to be on top of logistical things like camping frequently, finding and securing a water source, and keeping a map updated so they can get in and out more easily.