scale of territory

I’m rather new to this but excited about getting started. Can anyone help with understanding the scope of the scale of the territory? I haven’t crossed anything in the rpg book noting distance or scale of movements; how long does it take a patrol or any mouse/critter to travel a set distance? Inch equals miles?

Also I tried to down load all the beginning pdf’s but somehow I messed up the one concerning the “conditions” and or tokens, and I can’t locate the link to try again.

Any help would be appreciated, thanks

Ben

Hi, Ben. The general idea of the size is that 1 inch on the map = 1 day’s travel in the territories.

HI Ben,

You will find that lots of things in Mouse Guard have been left somewhat vague and undefined. This is both a great strength and a great weakness. It gives you as the GM plenty of room for your own development and lots of opportunities to springboard the game off creative ideas from the players. However it also means that sometimes when you just want the definitive answer to a question, there isn’t one.

1 inch on the map to one mile on the ground is the standard scale. Extrapolating from human settlement patterns, about one days journey between settlements is a likely pattern. For the mice I would expect there to be some sort of shelter along the paths from one settlement to the next especially where they are further than a day’s journey apart. This might be nothing more than an overhanging rock or simple lean-to, just enough to provide shelter from the worst of the weather and predators.

Let the story be your guide. If you need it to take more or less time to get from one place to another then that is how long it takes. MG is about the struggle of the mice to survive in a world where they are the small and weak. It is not overly concerned with tracking every ounce of gear or every foot of movement.

cheers,
–dave

Previous discussion linked below.