So... Magic in Mouse Guard...

I know magic was not meant to be in MG, and I really like that; I especially like WHY that was, too.

BUT, if you did want magic in it, how would you go about doing it? I am new to the game (and the system) and am not sure how I would approach it yet.

Mainly just for conversation’s sake…

Okay, just for the sake of playing around…
Here is what came to mind:

Magic could be a paired ranking with Nature. So that combined they add up to 7. So if Magic Nature was ranked at a 3, Mouse Nature would be a 4.

NOTE: they are not required to add up to 7 (ie. one could have a Nature of 5 and no ranking in Magic). This is just a limit on the pairing.

This would serve two purposes - Magic forces Nature down, while having a high Nature forces Magic down. Suggesting that Magic is not… natural. Plus the use of Persona is weakened with a high Magic ranking.

A Trait called “Magically Gifted” (or somesuch) could/should be the requisite to get a Magic ranking of 1.
Actually now I’m thinking more focus should also be used here such as a Trait like “Order of Flame” would be a magician of Pyromancy - in order to limit what can be done with the magic.

Not very organized as I just pulled this out.
Also - if you happen to have the Burning Wheel Magic Burner I think that some of the ideas used there can be ported over (with varying levels of difficulty).

EDIT: thinking more on this - I left out any way of actually using this idea in play.

Magic “Nature” is limited by the Magical Trait chosen (ie. Pyromancer) - and then that Trait provides a narrow selection of actions that one can take with Magic (to make it similar to Mouse Nature).

I’m not sure where I’m going with this though… Ultimately I don’t want magic in my Mouse Guard (you got magic in my Mouse Guard! You got Mouse Guard in my Magic!) - so I think I’m having a conception block.

Thats very clever Irminsul, I especially like the link between low Nature and high magical ability.