Some questions about recovery

I’ve been playing BW for a few years now, but I just played my first MG session the other day. I was GMing and a disagreement came up. Does it cost checks for a PC to use the healer skill on someone in the party during the GM’s turn? My players think not because it is just a skill test like any other, but the way I read it, I thought that anything that functions as recovery costs checks. Also, if it costs checks who spends them, the person healing or the person being healed? I suppose this question could also be extended to the question of testing to get food during the GM’s turn as well.

Also, I know the book says conditions must be recovered in order. Does this apply if you’re not rolling? In other words, if a friend gives you a place to sleep for the night, can you alleviate the tired condition even though you may still be angry?

Off the top of my head, I believe the answer is “you have to wait for the Players’ Turn to make that test”. During the GM’s turn, the guardmice patch things up as best as they can, but keep pushing forward against the next obstacle that the GM has for them. Remember that during the GM’s turn, the GM has the initiative! The GM says “this is the problem you’re facing, how are you getting around it?” and the players say what skills they’re using to solve the obstacle.

It’s only during the Players’ Turn that the players get to choose their obstacles and do what they want. So, choosing to forage for food and choosing to heal party members has to wait for the Players’ Turn to happen, because it’s player-initiative action. Guardmice have a hard-knock life!

In terms of who spends checks, it’s the mouse making the test. During the Players’ Turn, you spend a check to make a test, no matter who’s on the receiving end (if anyone) of the test.