Starting With BW, Jumping In Headfirst Or Cautious Approach?

My intent is to run a two year campaign with BWG. Looking through these forums I see how different aspects of the system, like artha and lifepaths, can greatly affect the feel, progression, and power level of a setting. Given that I am new to the system and have little experience with other systems, would I be better off not jumping into this campaign right from the start? Should I instead take three to six months playing with the system to get a feel for how tweaking various mechanics can affect gameplay, power levels, and general progression of characters and their expanding capabilities?

I guess I fear starting with what will be a very important long term campaign and finding three to six months into it that I misjudged one or multiple aspects of the system from the start. I’d hate to have to scrap a game or impose new restrictions or rules on a player just to make up for my original lack of foresight. If you do recommend I go ahead and get properly acquainted with the system first, what is an ideal way to go about doing that? What parts of the system should I be paying special attention to? What kinds of things should I be trying to understand and learn during this time?

I’d have no problem running adventure modules or just running a generally chaotic romp through broad brush stroke story (like using just the hex descriptions from the Wilderlands of High Fantasy as the players traverse it in search of adventure). Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. Thank you for your patience :wink:

Did you try out The Sword yet using the Hub rules?