The pernicious 1-player question

I am giving serious thought to running a BE game over VoIP. However, I have but a single player in mind. A few trawls through BWHQ and the net at large reveal some comments about the process*, but seemingly no APs or hard advice. Since this issue last raised its ugly head, have there been advances in the field?

Anecdotes or schoolin’ from those with better search-fu humbly accepted.

~Madu

*Some of which were so old I had to decode them from Clickwise.

There is a long standing one-on-one BW game.

Hmmmm I can’t thing of any sage advice BE is a littlemore codified.

Would anyone argue that with one player you may want to consider a building scene AND a conflict scene for the players side?

I have no experience with this, but I can tell you that with 5 players in my game I sometimes wish I had fewer so we could blaze through stuff! (But all my players are awesome and I the game wouldn’t be the same without each of them.)

I would limit the GM to the same number of scenes as the player, so if you go with Conflict and Building each Maneuver that’s 8 scenes per phase - most of them very short. I think you could do 3 or more Maneuvers per session! That would rock.

BE isn’t really designed for this. Two players could work, but I think one-on-one isn’t a good bet.

That does seem to be the consensus, doesn’t it. It looks like one-on-one B* game I’m going to run is drifting in a direction other than worms in skulls, so the grand experiment will have to wait.

It is something I’d like to peck away at, seeing as how one player/one GM games are really where my GMing comfort zone lies.

~Madu

Stretch yourself for BE. It’s worth it.

Or try BW. One-on-one games of BW have gone beautifully in the past, and I’d highly recommend that.

Hmmmm I think it can work.

My main advice is have two books and both people should know the rules!

Push hard and I think you’ll have a really intense game.