Using your weapons on other players actions?

Okay this came up during my game and I wasn’t sure about it.

If you’ve designated that your axe is being used for attack actions and you help someone with the attack action they chose and are rolling for, do they get the bonus from your axe?

That seems it would be pretty wicked if two axe-users or and axe-user and a halberd user, were both able to add that extra Success to the roll.

The way we played it was that you can only throw in your weapon’s bonus on a roll you’re making. But I want to make sure.

Nope! You’ve got to be rolling for the action to benefit from the tool/weapon.

Alrighty, I assumed so, and that’s how we played it. I just wanted to double-check