What is the reason for forcing character traits on lifepaths?

Hi everybody, I’m new to burning wheel (just bought the manuals) and I want to ask a few questions on the ruleset. I’ve played RPGs for many years (too much probably) and in the last few years I played mostly Dungeon World and other similar games.
I find that many of BW ideas are pretty nice and refreshing, however there are some strange things, especially in the character burning part, that do not convince me and I’m asking here to know if there is a reason for this. It’s not useless criticism, it’s that I really want to understand the author’s ideas.

The things that makes me think the most is the fact that lifepaths force you to characterizations that are totally arbitrary and potentially unwanted.
E.G. The city guard lifepath force you to take the “drunk” trait… why?? What if I want to play a city guard that never drunk a drop of wine in his life? Why do I have to be drunk? Also, why lifepaths have fixed (arbitrary?) amount of years to add to age? Can’t I be (reasonably) free to chose my age? Shouldn’t I be free (again, reasonably, but there is a GM for this) to chose my character history as I want?

My objection is more on the principle than on the practical rule. I guess that I’m free to ignore the rule and chose whatever character trait that I feel appropriate, however the whole point of RPG, IMHO, is that the role wins over the rules, not the other way… here I see that the whole character burning thing is setup so that the rules force some pre-made role on the character.