I use Remarkable Magic Mud-wise to know of a special kind of mud found along this riverbank that has healing properties - I want to use it to patch up my wounds.
[li]If you fail, the mud you find is full of parasitic insect larvae that enter your bloodstream. The wound closes, but you’ll have other problems down the road!
[/li][li]If you fail, the mud only works for as long as you leave it on the wound. As soon as you take a bath or something, your injury will return.
[/li][li]If you fail, the mud heals the wound but paralyzes your leg.
[/li][li]If you fail, digging up the mud unearths a river crocodile’s eggs - and mama’s right nearby!
[/li][li]If you fail, it turns out the mud is actually a blood-thinner. Instead of healing the wound, it makes you start to bleed to the next wound category.
[/li][li]If you fail, it turns out the mud “fixes” the wound by adhering to your flesh and merging with your body. You’ll get the “Bizarre Leg Bulge” trait, which gives you +1 ob to all Speed tests.
This is fun!
EDIT: Oh, just saw Ten of Swords’ post. Okay, hold on a sec…
Make a boat to cross the river and catch the brigands fleeing with your husband.
If you fail, your boat goes down the river with you still in it! Maybe you can still catch up, if you can make it out of the Thornswamp alive…
I use my sword to get people out of my way so I can exit the ballroom unharmed.
If you fail, someone screams, trips, and knocks over a candle onto a drapery. Now everyone’s running and shrieking, and there’s a big fire between you and the door!
I’ll woo the innkeeper’s fiery daughter by singing below her window at midnight.
If you fail, she’s not even there to hear you - she’s already gone off to the ball with your rival. (Is this reasonable? How important is it that failure be a direct consequence of the character’s actions? It seems highly desirable at least.)
Oh, and yeah, the book pretty explicitly says that on failure, the stated intention does not come to pass. Right there on page 31. So using intent-plus-twist failure is technically a house rule in BWG.
Personally, I don’t think it’s contrary to the spirit of the system to leave that option on the table. But it is contrary to the rules.