GM Turn, Player Turn?

Hi all :slight_smile:

What an absolute drop dead gorgeous piece of work MG is.

But I have grave reservations about the implementation of the BW rule system.

Firstly, I’m new to it, I heard there was a bit of crunch and that the whole thing was streamlined for MG. But I’m a bit confused as to whay we need to split the running of the game into GM --> Player --> GM etc turns? Why can’t it just flow as per any other game?

Also, I read on page 75 that a player has to spend a check just to get into a conflict with a fellow player’s mouse? Finally, also on page 75 (I didn’t get past that because of the rulings), it mentions how “twists in the Player’s Turn are tricky”, it then goes on to describe how to resolve this.

My point, it all seems a bit rules crunchy and pointless.

Help me save MG from gathering dust, because that would be a shame. I love the book, I love the setting, I just think the rules are a but too overly involved.

There has been previous discussion on this topic and people have offered good advice in response to similar reservations.

If that doesn’t help, let us know and we’ll try to address your specific concerns.

There have been previous discussions on this topic and people have offered good advice in response to similar reservations.

If those don’t help, let us know and we’ll try to address your specific concerns.

Not to sound like a tool, but that’s kind of the point. It’s not any other game, it’s MG. The rules promote a certain style of play. (All RPGs do this actually, it’s just more blunt in MG.) I haven’t played enough MG to actually describe that style of play, though.

–Victor

Thank you all for the replies. It seems like an ordering of events in order to facilitate the rules.

Has anyone got a link to actual gameplay, I mean with this in particular?

Oh quickly whilst I remember, why does a player have to spend a check to have a conflict with another player’s character? Why doesn’t he just…have the conflict?