Question about Chase Conflict

I am new to BW, and just reading the Mouse Guard book for the first time. So far it sounds very neat and I am rather excited about trying out the narrative mechanics of this game.

I was reading through the Conflict section and it says that Nature is the base for a Chase. Directly below it says “Mice may only use Nature as a base for disposition if the conflict is appropriate to their Nature”. Does this mean that Mice may not use their Nature (they have base of 0 and are therefore at serious disadvantage) if they want to chase after something since I can’t think of a case where they would be the pursuer in given the four aspects of the Mouse nature?

Or is that rule only referring to the other two conflict types where both Health and Nature are options?

Thanks

Mice may only use Nature for Chases involving hiding, escaping or climbing.

-L

So how do you determine the disposition for guardmice chasing after something? Only use Scout successes? I’d hope not since that would give a criminal mouse (escaping) a 4 or 5 automatic success edge running away from… another mouse. Or would it be Health in that case?

This seems like a genuine piece of errata that I had an answer for once. Anyone remember what I said last time? Because that’s the answer.

I’ll presume you are just choosing to say “You only roll Scout” in an evasive way.

• Barring spending persona to tap nature on the actual actions or extreme dice luck, can you (or anybody) suggest any good means for a mouse to make up the pursuit deficit?

• Hmm… Is it possible to tap nature for extra dice on the rolled component of disposition (i.e. spend persona and add nature dice to scout for the chase)?

I’d rather say Luke sees this as an oversight he thinks has come up before.

Yeah, I’m serious. This has come up before, but I’m too jetlagged to find the answer. Help!

Luke’s jet lag is so enormous that he has affected at least me, too. Can’t find it, either.